Maestro Tsung Yeh began his tenure at the Singapore Chinese Orchestra (SCO) as Music Director in 2002. Under his leadership, SCO expanded its repertoire with ground-breaking works such as Marco Polo and Princess Blue — A Symphonic Epic (2002), and Admiral of the Seven Seas (2005) and Awaking (2008). In 2013, Tsung Yeh was awarded the Cultural Medallion; the highest accolade in the arts. He is also currently serving as advisor to the Singapore National Youth Chinese Orchestra.

With relentless vigour, Tsung Yeh pioneered and developed SCO’s signature Nanyang music style, infusing Southeast Asian elements and heritage into symphonic works. Tsung Yeh put on a grand display of Nanyang music during the National Day Parade 2007, where he conducted an awe-inspiring performance comprised of musicians from SCO, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Singapore Armed Forces Central Band, Malay, Indian and Nanyin ensembles. The Singapore International Competition for Chinese Orchestral Composition (SICCOC) was initiated by Tsung Yeh, and subsequently supported by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, to act as a platform to educate and establish repertoire of Nanyang and Singapore-inspired music.

Flying the Singapore flag high, Tsung Yeh has led SCO on numerous international concert tours to great acclaim. In March 2005, he led the orchestra on its first tour to Europe at Barbican Centre in London, The Sage Gateshead and the Budapest Spring Festival. History was made when Tsung Yeh led SCO to be the first Chinese orchestra to perform in the Edinburgh Festival. Since then, SCO’s international performances have proliferated under Tsung Yeh’s guidance, touring China, England, Hong Kong, Macau, Malaysia, and South Korea. In 2019, Tsung Yeh led SCO on a wildly successful concert tour in Europe, showcasing Nanyang music to Berlin, Prague, Forli and Ioannina to standing ovations at every leg of the tour.

As a highly sought-after conductor and music director, maestro Tsung Yeh has worked with a myriad of prestigious orchestras. He served as the Music Director of the South Bend Symphony Orchestra (SBSO) in the United States from 1988 to 2016, and was honoured with the ASCAP Award in 1995. Upon his retirement from SBSO, Tsung Yeh was presented the “Sagamore of the Wabash Award” from the Indiana State – the highest honour given by Indiana governor Mike Pence. The mayor of South Bend City, Pete Buttigieg, also declared 7 May 2016 as “Tsung Yeh Day”. Maestro Tsung Yeh is currently designated as Conductor Laureate by the South Bend Symphony Orchestra Association.

He has also collaborated with reputable international orchestras including San Francisco, Tucson and New Haven Symphonies, Calgary and Rochester Philharmonic, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, and various orchestras from China, Europe, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, Russia and Czech Republic. As part of the Conductors’ Mentor Programme sponsored by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Tsung Yeh worked with Music Director Daniel Barenboim and Principal Guest Conductor Pierre Boulez. Tsung Yeh was also the former Music Director of the Northwest Indiana Symphony Orchestra, Hong Kong Sinfonietta, and the Exxon/Arts Endowment Conductor of the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra. He served as Resident Conductor of Florida Orchestra and was the Principal Guest Conductor of Albany Symphony Orchestra of New York. Over the years, Tsung Yeh has made various recordings under the HUGO, Delos and Naxos labels. At the Shanghai Grand Theatre, Tsung Yeh conducted the Shanghai Chinese Orchestra at the 2020 New Year’s concert; organized and broadcasted by Tencent to over 1.2 million audiences.

Back at his alma mater, Tsung Yeh is a guest professor at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music. He has taught conducting workshops hosted by the Conductors Guild, The League of American Orchestras and the Musik Hochschule of Zurich and is also active in conducting masterclasses in China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Singapore. In recent years, he was appointed the Principal Guest Conductor of the China Central Chinese Orchestra, Artistic Committee Member of the Jiangsu Centre for the Performing Arts and Senior Researcher of the He Luting Chinese Music Research Institute of the Shanghai Conservatory of Music and a member of the Faculty of the International Conducting Institue (ICI) in Czech Republic. In 2016, he was selected as one of ten outstanding conductors by the China Nationalities Orchestra Society. In the same year, Tsung Yeh was also appointed as the Expert of China Thousand Talents Programme.

葉聰于 2002年1月应邀出任新加坡华乐团的音乐总监。在他的领导下,新加坡华乐团迅速拓展其演奏曲目。由他策划的大型音乐会包括:交响幻想史诗《马可波罗与卜鲁罕公主》(2002年)、《海上第一人—郑和》(2005年),以及《离梦》(2008年)。这些成功的制作不但广受好评,也把华乐艺术推向了更高的层次。葉聰于2013年10月,荣获文化界最高荣誉的“新加坡文化奖”。他也是现任新加坡国家青年华乐团顾问。

葉聰靠着不懈努力和深厚的艺术见解,精心打造出属于乐团自己,融汇中西,富有南洋特色,新加坡华乐团的独特声音。2007年,葉聰担任新加坡国庆典礼的音乐总监,他为这个举国欢腾的庆典节目作了全新的音乐设计。在国家领袖、27,000 名热情观众和上百万名透过现场直播观礼的国人面前,葉聰成功指挥了一个由新加坡华乐团、新加坡交响乐团、马来和印度乐队、南音小组,以及合唱团所组成的联合乐团。首届的新加坡国际华乐作曲大赛(SICCOC)由葉聰发起,致力为发扬具有南洋地区音乐与新加坡特色的华乐作品,并提高国际音乐界对此类华乐作品的认识。

葉聰带领新加坡华乐团走出小红点,向世界出发,扬名海外。2005年3月,他首次带领乐团远赴伦敦、盖茨黑德,以及布达佩斯春季艺术节。在他的领导下,乐团完成中国巡演,也将富有南洋特色的音乐带到英国、香港澳门、马来西亚,以及韩国。2019年,新加坡华乐团在欧洲舞台上扬起了新加坡的旗帜,在德国柏林、捷克布拉格、意大利弗利,以及希腊约阿尼纳,赢得全场观众的起立鼓掌,收获当地观众的热情反响。

作为一名优秀指挥与音乐总监,葉聰曾与无数著名乐团合作。葉聰于1988年至2016年担任美国南湾交响乐团音乐总监。1995年,他与南湾交响乐团更获颁美国作曲家、作家及出版商协会大奖荣衔。葉聰退休离开南湾交响乐团之后,荣获印第安纳州州长 Mike Pence 颁发的印地安纳州最高平民奖 “Sagamore of the Wabash Award”。此外,南弯市市长Pete Buttigieg 也宣布2016年5月7日为“Tsung Yeh Day”( 葉聰日)。葉聰现被定为南湾交响乐团协会桂冠指挥。

葉聰曾与北美多个乐团合作,计有三藩市、塔克逊、纽黑文交响乐、卡尔加里和罗彻斯特管弦乐团等。他也经常应邀担任亚洲多个乐团的客座指挥,包括中国、日本(东京)和日本、台湾、俄罗斯,以及捷克。他曾被挑选参加由芝加哥交响乐团主办的“指挥家深造计划”,并接受其音乐总监巴伦邦及首席客座指挥布莱兹的指导。他也曾任西北印第安那州交响乐团音乐总监、香港小交响乐团的音乐总监、圣路易交响乐团助理指挥,佛罗里达州管弦乐团驻团指挥、纽约奥尔班尼交响乐团的首席客座指挥。他曾同雨果、Delos 与 Naxos 等公司合作,录制多张音乐光碟专辑。葉聰也参与由腾讯视频主办、在上海大剧院举行的上海民族乐团2020年新年音乐会,其视频吸引超过120万人观看。

葉聰在指挥教育界亦极富盛誉。他重返母校,担任上海音乐学院客座教授。他曾在美国“指挥家联盟”与北美交响乐团联合会举办的工作坊担任讲师。他也积极参与在中国、香港、台湾和新加坡举办的大师班。近年来,他受委中国中央民族乐团首席客座指挥、江苏大剧院艺术委员会委员和上海音乐学院贺绿汀中国音乐高等研究院学术委员,以及捷克共和国国际指挥学院教员。2016年,葉聰荣获由中国民族管弦乐学会颁发的“杰出民族管弦乐指挥”称号;以及被委任中国“千人计划”人才之一。