Singapore Chinese Orchestra (SCO), inaugurated in 1997, is Singapore’s only professional national Chinese orchestra. SCO, made up of more than 80 musicians, occupies the Singapore Conference Hall, which is a national monument. With Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong as its patron, SCO takes on the twin role of preserving traditional arts and culture and establishing its unique identity through the incorporation of Southeast Asian cultural elements in its music.
HIghlightS
SCO has impressed a broadening audience with its blockbuster presentations and is fast establishing itself around the world.

Global Outreach

SCO has toured various countries and cities including Beijing, Shanghai, Xiamen, Nanjing, Suzhou, Macau, Hungary and England. Recently in May 2014, SCO performed at the Shanghai Spring International Music Festival and in Suzhou to celebrate the Singapore-Suzhou Industrial Park’s 20th anniversary.

In October 2015, SCO performed two concerts in Hong Kong at the Tsuen Wan Town Hall and Hong Kong Cultural Centre. Commissioned by Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth as part of the Titian Budaya Singapore cultural season in Kuala Lumpur, SCO also held its debut concert in Malaysia at the iconic Petronas Twin Towers. These international platforms provided SCO with the opportunities to showcase its talents and music, propelling it to the forefront of the international music arena.

With its vision to be a world-renowned people’s orchestra, SCO widens its outreach by performing regularly at various national parks, communities and schools. SCO also commissions its own compositions and organised the Singapore International Competition for Chinese Orchestral Composition (SICCOC) in 2006, 2011 and 2015 respectively.
Back to top

Subscribe to SCO Newsletter now!

新加坡华乐团是本地的旗舰艺术团体,更是唯—的专业国家级华乐团。自1997年首演以来,拥有超过80名音乐家的新加坡华乐团在肩负起传统文化的传承之际,也以发展和创新为重任。新加坡华乐团赞助人为李显龙总理,并坐落于被列为国家古迹的新加坡大会堂。新加坡华乐团更通过汲取周边国家独特的南洋文化,发展成具多元文化特色的乐团。各种资源和优势相互交融,使新加坡华乐团成长为一支风格独具的优质华乐团。
焦点
新加坡华乐团不断策划与制作素质高又多元性的节目,使它在华乐界占有—席之地,而日益扩大的观众群也目睹了华乐团这几年来的成长。

全球推广

新加坡华乐团以高演奏水平,受邀到全球各地多个重要场合中演出,包括中国北京、上海、南京、苏州、澳门、匈牙利和伦敦。在2014年,新加坡华乐团参与上海之春国际音乐节以及苏州欢庆新中苏州工业园区20周年的演出。

在2015年,新加坡华乐团也赴香港荃湾大会堂演奏厅和香港文化中心音乐厅演出两场音乐会。为庆祝新马建交50周年,新加坡华乐团参与了新加坡文化、社区及青年部于吉隆坡举行的“文化之桥”新加坡文化交流季,在吉隆坡呈献马来西亚首演音乐会《乐飘双峰·荟音乐融》,带领马来西亚的观众踏上新马文化交流的音乐之旅。这些海外音乐会不仅大大提升了新加坡华乐团在国际音乐界的名声,也奠定了它在华乐界的领导地位。

新加坡华乐团以“人民乐团”为宗旨,通过社区音乐会、学校艺术教育计划、户外音乐会等活动来推广华乐,为使其他种族的朋友也能欣然地欣赏华乐。新加坡华乐团也委约作品,于不同音乐会中首演新作品。新加坡华乐团主办了三届的国际华乐作曲大赛,分别于2006年,2011年及2015年。

Back to top