The Singapore National Youth Chinese Orchestra (SNYCO) is a group of highly talented musicians between the ages of 11 to 26, under the National Project of Excellence (NPOE) recognised by the Ministry of Education. With more than 90 members, SNYCO aims to nurture aspiring young musicians and groom them to be the future pillars of Singapore’s Chinese music industry. Only the finest musicians are selected through auditions to become members of SNYCO.
Quek Ling Kiong was appointed as SCO’s Resident Conductor from 1 January 2013 and SNYCO’s Music Director from 1 January 2016

Activities & achievements

SNYCO members gain experiences through various performing opportunities throughout the year. The SNYCO Budding Talents concert held in December 2005 showcased the orchestra’s young musicians through both solo and ensemble performances. In the same year, the orchestra collaborated with local institutions to stage theatrical concerts.

The high standard of SNYCO is proven through its sell-out concerts. In 2015, SNYCO staged a combined concert with the Singapore National Youth Orchestra in SNYCO & SNYO Concerts: Symphonic Gifts. This combined youth orchestra concert was a significant event as it was the first collaboration between the two national youth orchestras recognized under the NPOE.  In March 2007, the SNYCO performed in SNYCO Chamber Recital Concert and in September the same year, staged a Beautiful Sunday concert at the Esplanade.
Since 2005, the SNYCO members have been participating in the Hong Kong Youth Music Camp to enhance their performing skills. In July 2013, the SNYCO was invited to perform at the Taiwan Hsinchu Chinese Music Festival. SNYCO was also invited to perform at the Tainan International Qixi Art Festival in July 2006 and staged its debut concert at the Esplanade Concert Hall in September 2006. SNYCO members also get opportunities to participate in workshops and master classes conducted by renowned artistes such as George Gao, Yang Wei and Mark O’Connor.

Quek Ling Kiong is the Music Director for SNYCO with Maestro Tsung Yeh as its advisor and Moses Gay as its associate conductor. SNYCO is under the purview of the National Arts Council and supported by the Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth since 1 April 2015.
Back to top

Subscribe to SCO Newsletter now!

新加坡国家青年华乐团是一支拥有超过九十名才华洋溢,年龄介于11 至26 岁的青年所组成的华乐团。新加坡国家青年华乐团已被列入新加坡教育部支持的国家卓越计划之中,皆从学校发掘有潜质的年轻人才,成为新加坡未来华乐舞台的支柱。所有新加坡国家青年华乐团的成员都是通过严格的试奏而精心挑选出来的优秀演奏家。
郭勇德从2013年1月1日起,被委任为新加坡华乐团驻团指挥。于2016年1月1日起,他也被委任为新加坡国家青年华乐团音乐总监。

新加坡国家青年华乐团的成就

新加坡国家青年华乐团成员通过多场音乐会获得丰富的演出经验。2005 年10 月29日,新加坡国家青年华乐团于新加坡植物园的 «新加坡国家青年华乐团户外音乐会»,连同新加坡华乐团呈献著名传统华乐曲目。2005 年12 月10日的新加坡国家青年华乐团 «乐蕾处处飘» 音乐会让成员们有机会一展独奏及合奏才华。同年,新加坡国家青年华乐团也与本地团体联合呈献舞台剧音乐会。

新加坡国家青年华乐团的高水平演出让每场售票音乐会深获好评、票房满座。在2015年,新加坡国家青年华乐团与新加坡国家青年交响乐团成功携手呈现《鸣乐献礼》音乐会。这历史性的音乐会由我国两支青年乐团首次同台演出。同年9月,新加坡国家青年华乐团在滨海艺术中心首次演出。2007 年,新加坡国家青年华乐团相继于3月的室内乐音乐会及9月的滨海艺术中心 «美丽星期天» 献艺。

从2005 年起,新加坡国家青年华乐团始参与香港青年音乐营以提升演奏技术。新加坡国家青年华乐团也于2006 年7 月,受邀于台南国际七夕艺术节演出。在2013 年,新加坡国家青年华乐团也参与了台湾竹堑国乐节。新加坡国家青年华乐团的成员也有机会参与其它各项活动和由顶尖艺术家主持的工作坊及大师班,如二胡大师高韶青、琵琶大师杨惟和小提琴家马克∙欧康诺等国际名家的大师班。

郭勇德是新加坡青年华乐团的音乐总监,葉聰是新加坡青年华乐团的顾问 ,倪恩辉是新加坡国家青年华乐团的副指挥。新加坡华乐团于2015年4月1日,正式归于国家艺术理事会管辖,由新加坡文化、社区及青年部支持。

Back to top