Growing up in the music scene, multi-talented Wang Chenwei was an active member of the Singapore National Youth Chinese Orchestra (then known as the Singapore Youth Chinese Orchestra) from 2004 to 2008. He took on different instruments throughout his five years in the orchestra and played the Daruan, Sanxian, Zhongyin Sheng, Cello and Zhonghu respectively. Deemed as a music prodigy, he was able to compose, conduct and play 12 musical instruments.

In 2006, Wang Chenwei received the “Singaporean Award” of the Singapore International Competition for Chinese Orchestra Composition (SICCOC) organised by SCO. The theme of his winning work “The Sisters’ Islands” was based on the Malay legend of the Sisters’ Islands south of Singapore. This piece was subsequently featured in SCO’s 2007 CD album “Charms of Nanyang”. Since then, SCO has commissioned Wang Chenwei to do new compositions and arrangements for many concerts, notably SCO’s Infinite Island – A Theatre in Concert in 2019.

For his many contributions to the music scene, he was conferred the Young Outstanding Singaporeans Award in 2011. Over the years, he has also composed several works with distinctive Singapore flavour such as “Confluence”, which has garnered him regional recognition. His outstanding works create memorable music and convey powerful emotions. His compositions have also been widely performed in SCO’s ticketed and outreach concerts, reaching out to Singaporean audiences from all walks of life.

Wang Chenwei is currently Head of Research and Education at The TENG Company, adjunct faculty and composition supervisor at the National Institute of Education (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) and council member of the Singapore Chinese Music Federation (SCMF). He is our current Composer-in-residence from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2022.

音乐伴随着多才多艺的王辰威成长。2004年至2008年之间,他是新加坡国家青年华乐团的团员。5年的华乐生涯,他演奏大阮、三弦、中音笙、大提琴,以及中胡。被誉为音乐奇才,他能作曲、指挥,以及演奏12种乐器。

王辰威17岁创作的交响诗《姐妹岛》,在2006年新加坡国际华乐作曲大赛中获“新加坡作曲家奖”,随后由新加坡华乐团演奏,并于2007年录成光碟。之后,新加披华乐团也多次委约王辰威为多个音乐会作曲和改编作品。

王辰威为音乐界做出了不少贡献,他曾于2011年获颁新加坡杰出青年奖。多年以来,他也创作具有新加坡特色风味的乐曲,譬如《融》,也广受好评,获得区域国家的赞赏。他的创作也广泛在新加坡华乐团的售票演出,以及户外演出演奏,触动来自不同背景、自各行各业的新加坡人。其中,他去年为新加坡华乐团的《华乐戏剧:通天大埠》作曲和编曲,广受好评。

32岁的王辰威现任鼟乐团研究教育部主任,他也是新加坡南洋理工大学国立教育学院作曲讲师,以及新加坡华乐总会委员之一。王辰威将出任新加坡华乐团驻团作曲家,任期为两年,从202071日至2022630日。